Thread: Fiberglass Bowlback Mandolin Cases (again)

Default Fiberglass Bowlback Mandolin Cases (again)

Hi, everybody.

I’m new in the Cafè

I would like to ask you something about Eastman fiberglass bowlback mandolin cases.
    I know this subject has already been discussed before, but all the messages I found are very old (even from 2002) and maybe the case has been improved.

I have read that Eastman fiberglass bowlback mandolin cases, like gewa cases do, tend to fall backwards when you take out your mandolin. Obviously, that could be dangerous for the instrument. Does it also happen with Aranjuez fiberglass case or another Japanese fiberglass case? (I think Eastman and Aranjuez cases are the same product)

(A. Timmerman said here: http://www.mandolincafe.com/forum/sh...ses-from-Japan)

Please, I would like someone who has recently purchased an Eastman fiberglass case or another Japanese fiberglass case (as Aranjuez model) confirm or deny this information.

Thanks in advance,
    Dracir

Blog Entries

Default Re: Fiberglass Bowlback Mandolin Cases (again)

I have more than a few Eastman fiberglass bowl back mandolin cases. I am not sure I understand what you mean by the tendency to fall backwards. I haven't noticed it I don't think. I will pay some better attention next time.

I mine are a few years old, I don't have anything newer than 3 or 4 years. I really love them for storage and for transport of my bowls.
    A talent for trivializin' the momentous and complicatin' the obvious.

The entire staff
    funny....

I was probably one of the first to get one. They sent me one when I was harranguing the Eastman rep. My main beef at that time was that the top tended to not stay open but slammed down. I think all it took was lengthening the ribbon that holds it. In any case, I have three of them at least and I keep my best bowlbacks in them. The only gripe I would have is that there is little storage for accessories.