Thread: Ibanez AVT1 or Blueridge BR40T for newbie?

Default Ibanez AVT1 or Blueridge BR40T for newbie?

Hello all, first post here. I'm a six-string guitar player planning on buying a tenor guitar as a Christmas gift to myself with my wife's blessing on exceeding the budget, and since I have been unable to find any tenor guitars or even tenor banjos in person to try out I would appreciate some input.

I've been playing guitar on and off for about ten years and I've leveled out at a decent rhythm/chord player. I took violin lessons for two years but never quite got the muscle memory and intonation to where they needed to be for pleasurable playing. I did enjoy the melodic playing immensely, and it was nice to return to the musical notation of my piano days instead of tabs. I've tried learning musical notation for guitar but my brain just doesn't want to.

Daydreaming at work one day I thought a great instrument would be an octave violin (I like the deeper tones) with frets for reliable notes, and skip the bow. That's how I stumbled on tenor guitars, specifically the Irish tuning of GDAE.

I'm trying to decide between the Ibanez AVT1 at $299 versus the Blueridge BR40T (which I've seen range from $400-$460). I can expect about $350 to purchase a guitar before I have to make some concessions and cut other spending. Since I'm unable to play them in the store to get an idea, I'm a little nervous about buying one online and would like some more information on both.

With a six-string guitar I prefer a thick neck, light weight, and good balance so it isn't neck-diving like my old SG. I have an electric PRS (an SE singlecut) as my primary guitar, a beat-up Art & Lutherie cedar top acoustic as my secondary, and a Seagull Merlin dulcimer for walking around the house and fooling around with.