Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Playing for a year, still a beginner

Question Playing for a year, still a beginner

Hi everyone!

I've played the mandolin for a bit over a year now, self-taught.
    I've been mainly just playing chords to accompany myself singing, trying to master all of the basic major and minor chords and then the accidentals. As I've grown more comfortable with that, though, practice has started to feel a little monotonous.

So, realizing the other day that practice is monotonous because I'm stuck in my comfort zone, I tried to get out of my comfort zone and accidentally went too far in the other direction, finding stuff that was way too advanced for me.

Since I don't have fear of a music teacher driving me to progress (why I quit piano), I'm not as advanced as I should be after a year of play. Even though I'm playing for my own pleasure, though, I still want to learn and improve. I'm just having trouble finding resources I can understand that isn't stuff I already know, if that makes sense.

So, the short version is: what are some good resources for beginners who aren't just starting out?

Thanks so much!

Default Re: Playing for a year, still a beginner

Don Julins book 'Mandolin for Dummies'. A great book for the self taught.

3. The following members say thank you to George R. Lane for this post:

Thuja 

It sounds to me like you should start working on learning some melodies. Mandolessons has a bunch of free material to this end.

5. The following members say thank you to dadsaster for this post:

Thuja 

Learn a bunch of fiddle tune melodies, and their chords. Play melodies and rhythm along with a backing track, there is a free bluegrass backing tracks website that will let you play along and slow down the tempo.

http://www.fbbts.com/Tunes.html
    Girouard Custom Studio A Oval
    P.W. Crump OM-III

7. The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to Gary Leonard For This Useful Post:

two t's and one hyphen fatt-dad's Avatar