Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: How do Webers compare to Northfields?

Default How do Webers compare to Northfields?

Greetings,

I'm a newbie mando player trying to find a nice mid grade f5-style instrument. I fought enough bad guitars years go that I'd prefer to get a decent mandolin that will let me concentrate on playing music not fighting the instrument. There is a Northfield dealer in my area and I really like how their instruments sound and play. But I keep seeing ads in the classifieds for nice looking Webers in the same general ball park price and I wonder how they compare tone wise -- the local dealer doesn't stock them... I'm looking for a darker more rounded tone quality. The Collings instruments I was able to test had a brittle quality I really wasn't fond of. For those who have played both where do the Weber Yellowstone, Bitterroot or Gallatin instruments fit tone wise?

Thanks,

guido

Default Re: How do Webers compare to Northfields?

Welcome!!! I may be very partial, but I felt the need to respond. Over the last 2 years, I have owned 10 plus mandolins including, a Kentucky KM900, a Givens Ode, a Morris, a Bulldog, a Pava, and a Weber. While all of these mandolins were fantastic in their own way, the Northfield Model M that I just acquired is hands down my favorite. The fit and finish are incredible, the tone is unique and sounds, to my ears, what I have always wanted to hear. I hope you find something that speaks to you
    Quote Originally Posted by guidoStow View Post
    Greetings,