Thread: New to cnc, looking for CAD/CAM advice

Default New to cnc, looking for CAD/CAM advice

I'm just getting into cnc, want to use it for complicated pearl inlay work. I've been working with Fusion360 (the price is great - free) but I don't need all the 3D features and complexity, 2-1/2D is all I anticipate doing.

I'm wondering what people are using? Is there software that is particularly suited for cutting inlays and pockets, and not too expensive? I do my designs in Illustrator, took a while to get comfortable with, but now I enjoy drawing with vectors. My machine is an old Techno Davinci, may need to upgrade the controlller.

Default Re: New to cnc, looking for CAD/CAM advice

I use Rhino 3D and Rhinocam, and they're great. More user-friendly than Illustrator, IMHO. Expensive, unfortunately. There may be something less expensive that can convert Illustrator drawings to g code.

Rhino3d and Rhinocam do work, they're about the bare minimum I would recommend. The nicest feature in that combo is the automatic tab generation, which allows you to make jigs and fixtures really easily without worrying about fixturing too much. I used that combo for the first year or so, but the lack of parametric functionality means that for every custom part, you have to build a new static model.

Fusion360 uses the HSM CAM engine, which is the same one I use. You can change the thickness of a carved top plate in a spreadsheeet, hit rebuild, and then output your g-code with a new thickness for every individual piece of wood.
    $40/month to work with HSM is completely worth it, IMHO. Nothing else even comes close to the ease of use of HSMWorks/Fusion360 CAM.