Thread: Help with MANDOLA and tenor strings and tuning.

Question Help with MANDOLA and tenor strings and tuning.

Hi everyone! I need some guidance on strings, and tuning. (& Maybe a shrink!)
    FIRST, I dont play Mandolin. lol, ( but just acquired a mandola. & am clueless.)
    I play tenor vile , alto Gamba, gourd banjo,
    dulcimer and Low whistle. ( bass fife.) & cello. Self taught, with the help of a kings ransom in books and you tube, and A-grade stubbornness.
    ( A late beginner, but get by OK.after a decade of practice )
    I like to sing and play, so I favor alto and tenor instruments, for their mellow tone range and cuddly size. HERE's the problem.
    I have the mandola and a Octave, both strung with mandola strings. ( they were in the string stash.) ( supposed to be Cgda )
    BUT neither will go there, (?) I have them in Gdae. I want to do a fingerpicking style, NOT tremolo, so I have G and d strung in octaves not unison, and a & e, strung single.
    It sounds OK.
    CAN ANYONE tell me how to get the best mellow sound and maybe get the Cgda? less finger string noise, and the best PICKING patterns for OLd -old time, and MODAL, like The Ashe Grove, The blackest crow, Pretty Polly, Darlin Corey, etc type ballads.
    I was wondering if NYLON was a possibility. sensacore? flat wound? ( Im lost! ) help.
    LASTLY.. any suggestions on easy cord, alternative tunings? Dada? etc
    Thanks a million!

Default Re: Help with MANDOLA and tenor strings and tuning.

Welcome to the cafe Miss CJ. String gauges might help. Are you tuned an octave below the mandolin? Alternative tunings are fine, but I would recommend CGCG instead of DADA as it would lower tension on the instrument. You could use lighter strings gauges and tune in DADA, but since you are already using octaves on the wound courses, not sure how light they are. Are the octave strings wound? Sorry for all the questions, but more information is always helpful.