Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Tracks of San Francisco Italian Mandolin Masters

Default Tracks of San Francisco Italian Mandolin Masters

I acquired several cassette tapes of master mandolin players who lived and played in San Francisco and the Bay Area. I don't think these tracks are available elsewhere. I have been slowly digitizing them and want to make them available on Sound Cloud to those who are interested.

Here is the first attempt at posting with some wonderful recordings of Lawrence Andrini. I'm stumbling through this process and I'm not very tech savvy. For some reason not all of the Andrini tracks uploaded so I will be trying to get them up soon.

None of the tracks had titles. I recognized a few of the melodies. If you can identify some of the nameless tracks please let me know what they are.

The complete collection of tapes includes performances by Andrini and other mandolinists such as Matteo Casserino and Gino Pelligrini who all passed away some time ago.

If there is interest in these recordings I will continue to make them available as my time permits (it's very time consuming!).

Enjoy

https://soundcloud.com/bill-foss-32969476

2. The Following 13 Users Say Thank You to Bill Foss For This Useful Post:

+ Show/Hide list of the thanked

Default Re: Tracks of San Francisco Italian Mandolin Masters

Wonderful stuff - grazie! I'm sure I've seen them here at the cafe ... but - somewhere - there are photos of a mandolin player who made a living playing in and around the restaurants on Fisherman's warf. I recall a sound sample as well. Interesting in that he was playing "Funiculi-Funicula" type music on a "F" style mandolin.

Thanks, Bill!

Thanks Bill, for sharing! From this kind of recordings we can learn a lot about mandolin playing! Thanks again and best wishes, Alex.

Quote Originally Posted by billkilpatrick View Post