Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Abysmal Right Hand

Default Abysmal Right Hand

Hello folks,

I've been playing at / playing mandolin off and on for many years (don't let that lead you to believe I'm very good, however) and decided a couple of years ago to get a good instrument (Kentucky) and start playing seriously with a view to really improving.

Scales, fingerings, all that are not a problem. I grew up playing guitar and also play jazz/bluegrass double bass. But try as I might, I can't seem to really get anywhere with my right hand picking technique.

Possible reason: I'm just a little under 7 feet tall with correspondingly long arms and large hands. In other words, my arm and hand don't fall on the instrument where they do for "normal" players. For me, a comfortable resting position leaves me almost picking on top of the bridge, which is too thin. Trying to move my arm/hand closer to the neck fo a richer and louder sound means I don't feel I have control of what I'm doing. My hand is essentially floating and I can't control what I'm hitting with any real accuracy, forget anything like actual song playing speed.

Also, I constantly feel like I'm fighting the instrument. As soon as I try to increase speed any, I can feel tension build in my arm and shoulder and no amount of relaxing seems to help. I don't seem to have this problem when playing the guitar (I'm not a fast guitar picker, I might add).

Is there anyone out there who might be able to spend a few minutes with me via Skype and try to suggest where I'm going wrong? I've tried all the pro tips (e.g. Chris Thile: hold the pick like you're just about to drop it - and I do) or sitting and playing with the neck tilted upwards, but none of it has seemed to fix the problem.