Thread: ID of vintage mandolin; picked it up in the Netherlands

Default ID of vintage mandolin; picked it up in the Netherlands

Hello friends,

I recently picked up a mandolin from a shop here in the Netherlands that imports instruments from the US and Germany (the Fellowship of Acoustics); the owner told me it might be a Gibson (it has Gibson hardware on it); further, he could tell me that the top has been renewed; and that that was the reason the soundhole looked different. There are no marks or anything visible that could tell me what it really is. It sounds and feels like an old Gibson for sure - but then again; I am not a pro :-)

Would anybody have an idea what kind of mandolin this is? We have been guessing around 1920-1930's, and maybe a Gibson... The Luthier remarked that it could also be a very good copy of a Gibson; he also wasnt sure.

Since it had to be refretted I brought it to a Luthier who remarked that the frets were smaller than the now available fret wire; they were 1mm as opposed to the 1.35 that apparently now is common - phoning around did not produce any 1mm fret wire, so now he is going to take out the first 6 frets, smoothen them and reinsert them a bit higher; I think he knows what he is doing, but I am curious how this kind of thing would normally be handled. Is there any fine fretwire around? (Guess this is hard to find!)

Anyway; I am happy to have become a member of the forum - all the way from Amsterdam!

Cheers and thx for reading, regards,

Matthieu

I see that the pics have shifted anticlockwise, but I dont see how I can change this - sorry

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	2017-06-19 15.42.28.jpg 
Views:	168 
Size:	993.9 KB 
ID:	158368Click image for larger version. 

Name:	2017-06-19 15.42.55.jpg 
Views:	150 
Size:	842.3 KB 
ID:	158369Click image for larger version. 

Name:	2017-06-19 15.43.02.jpg 
Views:	189 
Size:	733.5 KB 
ID:	158370Click image for larger version. 

Name:	2017-06-19 15.43.31.jpg 
Views:	179