Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Italian - German Mandolin Technique

Question Italian - German Mandolin Technique

I'm studying the italian methods, Calace, Munier, Branzoli. I read in this forum about a german school of classical mandolin, but I can't understand which are the differences between Italian classical mandolin technique and the german classical technique.

Maybe someone here can explain this...

Thanks!

2. The following members say thank you to Jairo Ramos for this post:

Default Re: Italian - German Mandolin Technique

I'm not the biggest expert - but it seems the Germans use a lot less tremolo, softer picks, flatwound strings, and have a different, almost more guitar-like concept of mandolin tone.

I'm not a German stylist.

4. The following members say thank you to DavidKOS for this post:

I'm not the biggest expert either, but in addition to what David said: German stylists often use a little larger bowlback with a little wider fingerboard that makes chordal playing easier.
    The pick most used is the Wolle pick.
    You can see a typical German mandolin (a Seiffert model made by Alfred Woll) and a Wolle pick used by Caterina Lichtenberg: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=N70qOyuUB8I
    Generally speaking, the sound seems a little darker then the sound from Naples.

A nice entry into German style mandolin might be the e-book "Reflections" by Barbara Pommerenke Steel available as a download at Astute music.
    https://www.astute-music.com/store/p...nke-Steel.html
    Here's the chord study "Little River"
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mY4_lW0yiXw

Another composer, who has written easy to intermediate pieces in the German style is Marlo Strauss.
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ASsmtEhUYAI

On a higher level, what seems to be a piece in German style:

"La flor inocente" composed by José A. Zambrano and played by Jeannette Mozos del Campo on a mandolin by Uli Albert.
    Lots of chords and no tremolo at all.