Thread: Longtime Musician, New Mandolinist!

Default Longtime Musician, New Mandolinist!

Hello!

I just acquired (quite by accident too, how wonderful), a mandolin.

(Yes, it's a Rogue, but still.)

I've been a musician for years, getting my BA in Music Ed and now teaching music, and have always loved to pick up and learn new instruments. Getting my hands on a mandolin has ignited that love again, and with some violin theory in my back pocket it feels like my fingers know more than I do sometimes.

As a mando-newbie who knows music and theory and can read sheet, tabs, and chord charts, what are some pieces of mando-specific advice I should definitely know? I need something to do while I let my poor soft fingertips take a break...

Default Re: Longtime Musician, New Mandolinist!

Rob Meldrum, a member here, has a free e book on set up. Get it and set your mandolin up. Your fingers will thank you.

Mandolin for Dummys is a good reference book to have.

Mandolessons.com is a good resource for beginners.

A fresh set of strings is not a bad idea.

If you find the mandolin more than a passing fancy, buy a solid wood mandolin.
    Silverangel A
    Arches F style kit
    1913 Gibson A-1

3. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Br1ck For This Useful Post:

If you're not already doing so, get your hands on heavier picks (1.0mm and up) as lightweight ones will sound weak and tinny on the strings.
    2018 Girouard Concert oval A
    2015 JP "Whitechapel" tenor banjo
    2018 Frank Tate tenor guitar
    1969 Martin 00-18

my Youtube channel

Blog Entries

What instruments are in your background. That will give you an idea of what instrumental prejudices you may have to fight to get mandolinny.

My apologists to extremely talented musicians, for whom none of this applies. I haven't had as much experience in and around the extremely talented genius level of musicians, so in my experience...