Thread: MM solid-body hum

Question MM solid-body hum

Hey kids,

I have an Eastman MD-515 that I've had for five years, and still think is the best thing ever. However, I recently bought a Morgan Monroe solid-body electric mando. Amazon didn't do a proper setup (I expected this, of course), but once I had one, it plays like a dream: I can't even believe how easy it is to play.

Unfortunately, it has a pretty serious hum when I plug it in. 25 years ago, when I was an electric guitarist, I used to put active pickups in everything to get rid of the hum - which worked beautifully.

Has anyone had one of these Morgan Monroes? Did better pickups do the trick?

Thanks,
    Paul

Default Re: MM solid-body hum

Given that these have a pretty poor reputation for quality control, I would check out a few other things before replacing the pickups. First check that it is properly grounded. Does the hum decrease when you touch the strings. If not the bridge needs to be grounded. Is there any shielding in the pickup and control cavities? If so is it grounded?

Pics?

If it's the one I'm thinking of it is a tele-shape with 2 single-coil pickups, correct?

If so that's probably 60 cycle hum from the single-coils. The easy solution would be to see if you can rewire it so the pup's are RWRP to each other. This won't work on pickups with ceramic magnets, which you probably have, but works great if they use alnico magnets after you flip the polarity. I was able to do this with my Fender FM60E.

After that you're into pickup replacements. Finding drop-in solutions can be costly so if you can rework the pickguard and squeeze a strat-type pickup in there, you open yourself to a ton of options, including EMG actives.
    VerneAndru.com | oKee.ComX

- ---==< V >==--- -