Thread: How does playing mando with guitar work?

Default How does playing mando with guitar work?

Hey everyone. This is my first post on here...Hello!

Not sure if there is a thread already about the following topic that I missed somewhere. If there is, please feel free to point me in the right direction.

Here's the back story:
    I've been playing the mandolin on my own for about two years. I'm a singer (first and foremost) and also play the violin. I initially wanted to pick up the mandolin to strum chords to accompany myself when I sing, and that's essentially what I've been doing up until my guitarist friends have started invited me to play and sing with them...

My issue:
    I've figured out strumming. If I'm playing a piece of music on my mandolin with my friend who is a guitarist, how can I figure out what else to play on my mandolin so we aren't just playing chords in unison? I have started doing some basic melodies on the mandolin and can improvise, but what about when I want to sing along too?

Regarding music styles, we're playing a lot of folk tunes right now. I eventually want to get into gypsy jazz, but I need to practice the jazz chords more.

Thanks for your wisdom! V.

2. The following members say thank you to ViolinVictoria for this post:

Default Re: How does playing mando with guitar work?

Welcome to the Cafe!

I would say the next logical move is to add rhythmic touches to your chord strumming - some staccato muting, some syncopation, etc. You can try to think of the mandolin as a percussion instrument that can also play chords and melody. Kind of hard to explain, but to me, Andrew Marlin of Mandolin Orange is a master of this.

Mitch Russell