Thread: Fiddler On The Roof (And a mandolinist in the pit)

Default Fiddler On The Roof (And a mandolinist in the pit)

Hey everybody! I'm a long time lurker, but this is my first time posting here. I am playing the mandolin part (which also doubles on guitar and lute) for my school's production of Fiddler On The Roof. I wanted to know if anybody here has had experience playing in a pit orchestra and could give me some tips for playing in one. No tip or trick is too small, this is my first time doing this and I'm looking for any help I can get.

P.S. The chord progressions in this music are absolutely insane, so any tips regarding playing tricky chord progressions would be much appreciated.

2. The following members say thank you to Mandylan for this post:

Default Re: Fiddler On The Roof (And a mandolinist in the pit)

Well, first of all, you're in a pit, and it's just what it sounds like. The last one I played in was so cold we sat with blankets over our laps and legs. Yours may be cold, it may be hot. Dress in layers, all black of course. It needs to be dark, so if they don't supply stand lights, make sure you have a good one, plus plenty of batteries or an available electrical outlet.

You can't let your attention flag for even a second. Actors forget their lyrics, they leave out a verse, they skip the bridge and plow right on through, then insert the missing bridge towards the end. The conductor has to keep everyone together, poor soul. Just because it went one way last night doesn't mean it won't go the other direction tomorrow. Be ready for anything, and be as prepared as you can. Make sure you have a pencil with an excellent eraser to mark changes, cuts, etc.