Thread: Knowledge to Wisdom?

Unhappy

I have been playing mandolin for about 3 years. #I practise usually 1 hour per day minimum. #I read the cafe daily, including tips, for sale ( ), and lessons. I listen to music daily. #My question is this: # When does the knowledge become a part of my playing? #Other musicians I play with say I have improved greatly. #This is wonderful, but when I play in public, it is like my brain stops working correctly and I do the simple licks rather than the great ones that I have worked out. #Sometimes I am improvising not because I am a hot picker, but because I am lost. #How do you get the consistancy and the things you know from the head to the fretboard? #Sorry for long post and thank you in advance.

I have been playing fretted instruments in public for over 30 years, mando for over 12 years and I still have that problem. Three years is a drop in the bucket. If you are improving, your knowledge is already part of your playing. But when the degree of diffculty goes up, it is natural for the quality to go down. To play in public or with a group, I think you need the following:

> You need to be "overpracticed." That means if you want to play perfectly at 120 BPM in public, you need to be able to play perfectly at 132 BPM (or whatever) in private.

> You need lots of experience playing with and for people. Hours playing in public are "money in the bank" for lowering your stress level.

> Relax, stretch and warm up before playing for people. Loosen up, dissapate some of that stress.

> Try to connect with the audience and the other musicians. Don't worry so much about how you personally sound, worry about how the group sounds and how well the audience is enjoying it. It is not a contest. There is no score for most notes played. All that is just showing off. When you have a lot of musicians, each one doesn't need to do so much to make the ensemble sound good. A simple lick, well played, is a thing of beauty.