Thread: Pick help

Default Pick help

I'm new to this (about to make a post in the newbie section). I've had my mandolin less than a week, it's an RT-FM1. Along with it I ordered a lesson book, a strap, and a pack of 3 primetone picks. The sound of the primetones is definitely better than the .75mm regular no name brand guitar pick I was using, but I almost feel like the pick sticks to the strings if that makes any sense. What picks do y'all recommend?

Default Re: Pick help

One thing you make sure of, is don't strike the pick against the strings with the pick flat, or parallel to the strings. You want to be holding the pick at a bit of a forward angle. At least that's what works best for me. It was explained well in the one of the Mike Marshall Artistworks video lessons.
    There was a recent thread in the General section about pick hold. Give that a read.
    Here's a good video from Mike Marshall with a few good beginner tips.
    Also, another video I always recommend watching is Chris Thile's pick hold tutorial.

3. The following members say thank you to wxfloyd for this post:

You may be digging into the string with too much of the pick, also. Those Mike Marshall and Chris Thile videos are excellent resources on improving your technique.
    Soliver arm rested and Tone-Garded Northfield Model M with D’Addario NB 11.5-41, picked with a Wegen Bluegrass 1.4

Welcome to the Cafe. In the Forum section there are many threads on picks and recommendations are plentiful. There are many styles, thicknesses and different pick materials to choose from. There is even a pick sample collection to borrow and get a feel for some of the differences. In the end , after much trying, you will discover which pick (or picks) is most pleasing to you. However remember you ,like all here, have entered into a never ending journey towards "the ultimate sound". Three picks that I use more often than not are: Dunlop Ultex, Primetone,and a Blue Chip (all triangle shaped)