Thread: Take Five - Solo Mandolin Arrangement [With Tablature]

Default Take Five - Solo Mandolin Arrangement [With Tablature]

Hey everyone, I'm new to the Cafe and wanted to share a new project I'm working on with all of you. I have been practicing arranging some of my favorite songs into solo mandolin pieces sometimes for better or for worse. There is not a lot of resources for learning to play the mandolin as a solo instrument nor is it usually considered designed for such a thing. To sort of change that, I will be including tablature and notation in the video description to try and help others wishing to play like this. Any feedback is welcomed. Thanks all!

2. The Following 7 Users Say Thank You to Mandolin Wild For This Useful Post:

Default Re: Take Five - Solo Mandolin Arrangement [With Tablature]

Thank you! Lovely, but I didn't see any tab. Wait for other confirmation, but the original is in 5/4 (hence the name) and I think you're playing it in 4/4 . Keep posting, please!

Don't play what's there, play what's not there. - Miles Davis

Registered User Michael Neverisky's Avatar
    Blog Entries

Good start! 5/4 time is tricky and there are a few moments where, I think, you lose track of the time signature.
    There are a few players who specialize in jazz music and some who are quite adept at chord-melody solo. Jethro Burns was a giant, of course. Check out David Benedict's Mandolin Mondays. Ah, and Google up Aaron Weinstein on YouTube for a real treat.

Quote Originally Posted by Sid Simpson View Post
    Thank you! Lovely, but I didn't see any tab. Wait for other confirmation, but the original is in 5/4 (hence the name) and I think you're playing it in 4/4 . Keep posting, please!
    Hey Sid, the tab is in the video description as a pdf. Here is the link for it. https://drive.google.com/file/d/1UQ7...ew?usp=sharing

Quote Originally Posted by AKA Frosty View Post