Thread: E Course on My Mando is Pretty Harsh Soundi g

Default E Course on My Mando is Pretty Harsh Soundi g

I am fairly new to mandolins. Most of my playing has been guitars.

My new Breedlove crossover has a really harsh sounding E course. There is nothing about it that I like. In fact, I have thought about either giving up on mandos or buying a different one but I don't want a repeat of the Breedlove. I also find the 7th chords to lack the sparkly tone that I find on my guitars.

Anyway, I saw a thread on line (this forum?) about the proper distance from the nut to the 12th fret being equidistant to the bridge. On my mandolin, there is a 1/2 inch difference with the nut to 12th fret being 6 3/4 inches while, the distance from the 12th fret to the bridge is 7 1/4 inches.

For those that know this stuff, is this mando not properly set up? It was originally set up at the factory while I was standing there.

Or, am I expecting guitar mellowness from what is really a screechy instrument?

Default Re: E Course on My Mando is Pretty Harsh Soundi g

It would seem that it was setup incorrectly. Did you buy this from a store or online? If from a store take it back and have them reset the bridge. If you bought online you need to find someone who knows how to setup a mandolin.They should be the same distance. From your measurements the length from the nut to the bridge should be 13 1/2 inches,I looked online and it should be 14 inches.
    Last edited by George R. Lane; Jan-02-2018 at 5:17pm. Reason: Just found out the proper length

Worlds ok-ist mando playr Zach Wilson's Avatar

Hello, welcome!

I really like the Breedlove Crossover... If set up and playable.

Check the string height...

Play an open string. If the note buzzes, loosen the strings and raise the bridge. Do this for all four strings. Try to go as low as possible without to much buzzing.

Next check your intonation...