Thread: Advice: KM252 or KM675?

Default Advice: KM252 or KM675?

Hey Cafers,

I'm looking to purchase my first mandolin. I borrowed a Kentucky mandolin from a friend for a little bit a few years ago and really enjoyed it and now I finally have a budget to make a purchase.

At the moment I'm looking at a Kentucky KM252 (for sale in the classifieds) or a Kentucky KM675 (from a very informative, out of town craigslist seller).

Being that I'm new to mandolins, I don't really know how these two stack up. I know the 675 went through some different production. The one I'm looking at is the Chinese model, but I'm not sure when it was produced.
    Both of the mandolins have been set up professionally and are being offered for similar prices -- the KM252 is 300 with a gig bag, the KM675 is 350 with a hard case.

So what do you all think about how these two stack up? Is the KM675 better or does it just retail higher due to the F shape?
    The KM252 seems like maybe less of a risk since it's from a seller on this site, but I figured I should give the 675 consideration since it's a really good deal and, I'll be honest, I find F style mandolins to be pretty darn cool.

Default Re: Advice: KM252 or KM675?

Obviously this will depend on the individual instruments, but in general, a newer KM-252 will sound better than a KM-675. The later KM-675 had good workmanship and are nice mandolins. The latest A style Kentucky's are the best sounding Kentucky has made short of the Master Models.

If you want to resale later, the KM-675 would be a good deal, based on it being worth more. If you don't care about resale, I would go with the KM-252.