Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Hearing aids

Mediocre but OK with that Paul Busman's Avatar

Default Hearing aids

I've been using a hearing aid in my right ear for about 5 years now for a pretty severe high end frequency loss. I recently got a new pair- my left ear wasn't bad but having two has made a big difference in most cases.
    Yesterday I was wearing them when I put a new set of strings (Mapes) on my Breedlove Crossover,old model. When I got the strings stretched out enough to play a tune, I couldn't believe my ears-- it sounded like I had fret buzz to some degree on all strings, every fret!Previously I hadn't had this happen at all. I checked, and string clearance on the frets was fine.I was going nuts over this until I took out the hearing aids. Problem solved! The new strings sounded fine. Apparently the aids were picking up some frequencies which came over as string buzz.My wife who has perfect hearing verified that there was no buzz.
    Anyone else had hearing aid issues with mandolin or other instruments?
    Playing a high D whistle wearing the aids is out of the question.
    For wooden musical fun that doesn't involve strumming, check out:
    www.busmanwhistles.com
    Handcrafted pennywhistles in exotic hardwoods.

Default Re: Hearing aids