Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Guitar or Upgrade My Mandolin

Default Guitar or Upgrade My Mandolin

So i have been playing for about 3 months, I take lessons once a week and play about 2 hours a day. I bought a used "The Loar" LM400 from a local pawn shop for 200 bucks when i started and got it setup by a local luthier.

Now I have come into a little extra "music spending money" (400 to be exact), and I am wondering what would be more beneficial to my music playing experience. Should I go with a Blueridge Guitar to start learning chords on, to make it easier to follow a guitar when I go to jams..... or do I get a Cumberland Bridge, James Tail Piece and have it professionally set-up( Maybe even have it sent to CA so it is done right)?

Also it will be a few years before I will be able to upgrade to something like a collings etc.

Thanks in advance, I have already learned a lot from Mandolin Cafe.

Dave Sheets

Default Re: Guitar or Upgrade My Mandolin

You can get a decent used guitar for $400, if that's the route you want to go. Guitar and mandolin are very different beasts. Another option would be to stash the money away and put it toward the next mandolin. There are a bunch of really tremendous mandolins in the $1200-$2000 range (used), saving for one of those has this big payoff in terms of sound if you can wait. Your current mandolin is a decent one, and should get the job done for you for now, minor upgrades won't change it much. All that said, follow your feelings, and always buy used
    -Dave
    Flatiron A
    Way too many other instruments

How much do you want to learn the guitar? $400 will get you a pretty nice guitar, especially if you can find a decent used one. The Loar is pretty sweet as it is, those upgrades won't do much to improve it. I'd go back to that pawn shop and see what they have in the way of guitars first. Sounds like they see some good deals on instruments.
    We are the music makers,
    And we are the dreamers of dreams