Thread: So what is Meinel & Herold?

Default So what is Meinel & Herold?

Hello everyone! so a little story. I am very new to mandolin. In fact, I never meant to play mandolin. I just thought hey, maybe this season I'll start learning guitar! so I walked in an instrument shop to check some beginners' guitar, then I saw this mandolin on the wall. It was almost magical. I couldn't think of anything else, and the next moment I realized I purchased it.

So here she is, very out of tune and maybe requires some string changes. But my question is what is Meinel & Herold? I suppose it's manufacturer of this instrument, but I couldn't find enough information on them, just knowing they are probably old.

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	mando.jpg 
Views:	281 
Size:	171.6 KB 
ID:	166737Click image for larger version. 

Name:	mando2.jpg 
Views:	466 
Size:	123.5 KB 
ID:	166738Click image for larger version. 

Name:	mando3.jpg 
Views:	780 
Size:	117.4 KB 
ID:	166739

Thanks a lot!

Default Re: So what is Meinel & Herold?

It's not the manufacturer it's the company that sold the instrument.
    "It's comparable to playing a cheese slicer."
    --M. Stillion

"Bargain instruments are no bargains if you can't play them"
    --J. Garber

3. The following members say thank you to MikeEdgerton for this post:

Teacher, repair person

Your answer is on the name plate. Meinel & Herold is the brand, "musikinstrumenenfabrik" is German for instrument makers, and Klingenthal is in Eastern Germany near the Czech border. "Sa." probably refers to Saxony, which is the name for that region. My guess is that the instrument was made sometime between 1910 and 1930.

5. The following members say thank you to rcc56 for this post: