Thread: John Doyle - Irish Rhythm Guitar: Accompanying Celtic Tunes

Default John Doyle - Irish Rhythm Guitar: Accompanying Celtic Tunes

I know this isn't mandolin, but does anyone have experience of this instruction.

As a guitarist I thought I'd make accompaniments to Irish tunes when I learn them on mandolin but have no experience with the approach taken in this genre.

Default Re: John Doyle - Irish Rhythm Guitar: Accompanying Celtic Tunes

I took a class from him on a lark. It was interesting but he can't really explain everything he does. If you can grasp it from watching and listening, then record everything he does so you can go back to it. I did get some good take aways from the class and learned how to hear other guitarists. I don't like his picks .73 green dunlaps and I did not agree with all of his stuff, but then...

Blog Entries

Celtic Back Up for all instrumentalists by Chris Smith is the clearest and best presented I have found.
    https://www.amazon.com/Celtic-Backup-Instrumentalists-Chris-Smith/dp/0786688742
    Eoin

"Forget that anyone is listening to you and always listen to yourself" - Fryderyk Chopin

We have a CD version of this ... and my husband-the-guitar-player has taken a class with John Doyle; he's also taken from a half-dozen other ITM guitarists including Pat Egan, Jimmy Coen and Paul deGras. From what I gather, the best way to learn guitar backing for ITM is to listen to everybody and choose what works best for you, your session and your abilities. I know a lot of people like to absolutely mimic their favorite musician, but ITM seems to be a genre where that doesn't work as well as you'd think, since so much of it is decided on the fly and a lot of backers will do a piece one way the first time, another way on the repeat, change it up for the B part and then change it again.
    --------------------------------
    1920 Lyon & Healy bowlback
    1923 Gibson A-1 snakehead
    1952 Strad-o-lin
    1983 Giannini ABSM1 bandolim