Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Tap tuning

Default Tap tuning

Hi folks. I'm building an octave mandolin based on a scaled up mandolin design from Graham MacDonald. I have the top and back carved and would like to refine the top before assembly. Has anyone experimented with tap tuning using an electronic tuner? When I tap the top my tuner reads a little sharp of "B". Could this possibly be valid? I'd appreciate any comments. Thanks

Default Re: Tap tuning

I will be intrerested to see your responses, I did buy a peterson tuner a few years back, but I really do not know if it is valid or not, I would tap and then if I had bars that read B+30 cents, I would just bring them down to B -0 , but I really can't say if it was not a waste of time. as the target note seems real arguable. I started de-flection tuning instead , but among a couple of my builder friends, it was also arguable. maybe it is meant to be argued. lol good luck. Should also be noted , I am an extreme newbie, as only have built 3 mandos, and getting ready to build 4th
    Mike Marrs

arguing about snake oil....

Mandolin & Mandola maker

Tuning to specific notes is a waste of time. Try and correlate specific notes to the final sound and you will get a random pattern (I have tried). So snake oil is correct. However, the relationship between the top and back is important, but what relationship you need to aim for in an octave mandolin is anyone's guess. Just build it. No harm in taking measurements while you build it, but you will need to build a lot of instruments and take a lot of measurements before you can make any sense of the measurements.
    Peter Coombe - mandolins, mandolas and guitars
    http://www.petercoombe.com

5. The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to peter.coombe For This Useful Post:

Mandolin tragic Graham McDonald's Avatar