Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Mandola lovers

Question Mandola lovers

First let me apologize for raising a topic that I suspect has been discussed before, probably many times. I've searched for such discussions here on the Cafe without much success.

I'm new to the mandolin family having spent my life playing guitar (sixty plus years devoted to mostly cowboy chords). My knowledge of musical theory has not grown much as a result. i.e. Standard tuning; open chords. I thought a foray into the mandolin family would stretch me and help me grow. I've had difficulty with the smallish dimensions of a mandolin fingerboard so I've acquired an octave mandolin. That was a step in the right direction. Now I'm wondering about something "in between" - a mandola seems to fit that description.

I'd like to hear from those of you who are mandola players. How did you "get there?" i.e. How and why did you gravitate to the mandola? Do you still play other instruments? What does the mandola add to your musical capabilities and how difficult did you find the challenge of learning to play mandola as opposed to learning other instruments?

These may be naive questions, but they reflect where I am in my musical journey. Thanks in advance for sharing your thoughts.

Larry

Default Re: Mandola lovers

In the 90's, I was playing with the Providence Mandolin Orchestra and the 1st and 2nd mandolin sections were burgeoning somewhat with over 20 players combined while the mandola section had only 3 or 4 players. Having played both 1st and 2nd mandolin for a few years, I was ready to try my hands at mandola so I bought a Weber Yellowstone 'dola (with the 17 inch scale) and it was quite powerful and helped add some "weight" to the tenor voices of the orchestra. Unfortunately for me the 17 inch scale was too big for my rather diminutive size so I commissioned Paul Duff to build me his version of the Loar era H-5 with a 15 7/8 inch scale, just the ticket for my hand size.