Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Starting Left-handed or right

Default Starting Left-handed or right

I am quite new to mandolin--I'm looking to begin learning how to play very shortly, once I purchase a mandolin for myself after kind of falling back in love with the instrument. I've got some options within my budget in mind, and I'm checking out the local stores to try them out and play in person to get a feel for the individual instrument. So I'm pretty good on that front.

My question is a bit more on fundamentals of starting.

I'm right-handed, technically. I write with my right hand. But I do almost everything else left-handed (bowling, shooting, using fork and knife, tennis, batting in baseball, etc).

I know this is a weird question, given how rare it probably is for someone who is 'right handed' to even consider playing lefty.

I'm an accomplished musician on clarinets (I've been playing these for nearly 20 years now), saxophone, flute, and some piano. Even after playing saxophone for about 15 years, and going through a lot of exercises to strengthen my left hand, I've still got an exceptionally weak pinky and to an extent ring finger on my left hand. I've plunked around on guitar a few times, and every time I pick up a guitar, I pick it up and play around left-handed.

Given that after 10+ years of diligent strength training, my left hand still has a weakness that makes it difficult for me to actually perform the distinct motion of pressing down and holding (onto a fret or a key), would it be totally off base to learn to play left-handed and use my left-hand as the strumming hand and use my much stronger right hand as the fret hand? Or should I learn right-handed and continue to struggle with a weakness that I fear will make it extremely difficult for me to play full efficiently with all the fingers on my hand? Or is there maybe some kind of option for playing right-handed with the weakness in my left hand that I'm not considering?