Thread: Snakehead Buzz

Default Snakehead Buzz

I have a '24 Snakehead, Plain A, in excellent condition. I've had it since my previous mandolin was stolen out of my car in the 90s. It has a buzz. Years ago I took it to Dusty Strings in Seattle and they put a shim under the bass end of the nut. I hadn't played much for about 10 years until recently. I've been playing pretty consistently for a couple years and there is an intermittent buzz, especially if I hit the G string hard. I'm beginning to wonder if it's the pick guard or the tail piece cover being loose. I've tightened the nuts on the pick guard bracket but I'm not sure how else to tighten up the fit. When I take the pick guard off it seems to help but does not entirely eliminate the problem. And, like I said it's inconsistent, so hard to know what's working. I live in a small town, not actually very near Seattle and don't know of a good luthier locally. Is this a known problem? Any ideas or suggestions?
    Thanks
    Lynn

Blog Entries

Default Re: Snakehead Buzz

Make sure everything-hardware is tight, put a small piece of leather in between the cover and strings and if that doesn't help the top brace may be loose? Is the top sinking in? you'll know if the top is depressed under the bridge area.

No sinkage. I'll try the leather. I guess I hadn't even thought of the braces being loose.
    Thanks,
    Lynn

If the tuner buttons/shafts are loose you can temporarily stretch rubber bands around them and play it to see. Or have somebody help you while you are playing and touch them one at a time to narrow it down.

Blog Entries