Thread: 10" body on octave mandola?

Default 10" body on octave mandola?

Hi, I'm new to this genre, a very amateur musician--played guitar and hammered dulcimer many years ago. I want to buy an eight-string teardrop octave mandola, 20" scale (for Renaissance and Celtic folk music)--not too pricey but not a piece of junk, either. The one that appeals the most that I found online is the Ashbury Rathlin for $415 through Hobgoblin Music. But being a bargain hunter, I kept searching, and found a guy on Etsy who makes them for $345, but he uses only either a 10" or a 14" body, versus the standard 12.5-13.5" body. He uses Old World Florida bald cypress. As a somewhat petite woman, I think 14" might be too big for me. I'm wondering if the sound of the smaller body of the 10" would be noticeably different from the standard 12.5", or would it negatively affect the sound, and in what way?

Default Re: 10" body on octave mandola?

A 10” octave mandolin sounds awfully small to me, considering that’s the size of a typical mandolin body (though I realize that this style of instrument would have a deeper body than a typical mandolin to try to compensate). I would expect the sound to be somewhat thin, without much low end. I would also look at the body depth of the instruments you’re considering, as that can play a major role in playing comfort as well.

3. The following members say thank you to amowry for this post:

The smaller body could suit you, depending on what sound you are looking for. Are you sure you mean an octave mandola, and not an octave mandolin? I don't think a twenty-inch scale is going to support the C2 string. Most use at least a 25" scale. If you mean an octave mandolin (G-D-A-E), then it's just fine. And I know that nomenclature of these instruments varies a lot, with different names for basically the same instrument, depending on geography.

5. The following members say thank you to meow-n-dolin for this post: