Thread: Hi, I'm new to this

Default Hi, I'm new to this

Hi. I've been following Mandolin Cafe for a while from Australia and decided that it's time to join up! I started learning the Mandolin about three months ago and absolutely love it.A lovely friend is teaching me. I have a restored German mandolin and am learning Medieval music which is all chords and just downward strumming. I'm trying to teach myself some modern songs as well (not my teacher's thing). I have never learned an instrument before and am looking for a book that shows how to read strum patterns as I don't know how to interpret tabs or music notation as far as strumming goes, or can someone out there advise on how to interpret. I've looked at endless videos, but most are too fast to see what they're doing, or don't show their right hand at all (I wont worry about the real fancy stuff). I'll never be fast, as I have an amount of arthritis in two left first finger joints, so just having fun and joining in with friends and maybe playing a bit for family will keep me happy, especially now that the world has gone mad.
    Much appreciated Bron
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Mandolin.jpg 
Views:	203 
Size:	476.7 KB 
ID:	184966

2. The following members say thank you to Bron S for this post:

Default Re: Hi, I'm new to this

sounds like you need to just take the time to just get started and learn as you go. There are many resources online and in print on strumming patterns and how to read tablature. If you spend time regularly practicing. The "interpretations" will become "Ah-Ha" moments for you. Don't put walls in front of yourself by telling yourself you cannot do something...just start trying to do it and soon enough you will find that you are in fact doing it.
    "All of us contain Music & Truth, but most of us can't get it out." - Mark Twain

Eastman MD615SB
    Martin D35
    Gibson SG

4. The following members say thank you to Mando Mort for this post:

Tony S