Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: where might one acquire a Mandocello?

Default where might one acquire a Mandocello?

Hey guys,

I hope things are well!

I am brand new to Mandolin Cafe, and the sole reason I created this account is to acquire a mandocello. I came across this instrument while doing some research on my instrumental forte, the Cello. From what I can tell, the Mandocello is the lovechild of the cello and guitar, and is even prettier than it sounds. I am now seeking to acquire one. However, there is one issue: it is not a common instrument. Not only does this make its intructors rare, but also puts a wildly high price on it. My goal then is to rent, borrow, build or in some other way acquire one at a low price. My budget being very miniscule, how might I go about acquiring a Mandocello? I'm all ears for any comments and suggestions.

Stay safe and all the best,

Jonk

Default Re: where might one acquire a Mandocello?

I’ve only ever played 2 mandocellos, but here goes...

Played an Eastman one with F holes a couple of years ago - very nice instrument with flawless workmanship, good playability and nice, rich tone.

Last year, while shopping for a new mandolin for my youngest son, I tried a used Weber Tamarack hanging on the wall. Oh my God - the sound still haunts me. Deep, rich, sonorous. A stunning instrument, beautifully made, with a sound that made several people in the shop turn around and listen - for the right reasons.

Didn’t buy it, as I’m not a Mandocello player, but if I’d had the spare funds I’d have bought it on the spot. It was that good.

Hope this helps,

John

Ok, a few things:

Realistically, I think it's going to be hard to find a place that rents mandocellos.

I know you emphasized that you don't have the budget to buy one at the moment, but still it might be worth pointing you here (NFI):
    https://www.mandolincafe.com/cgi-bin...rmat=headlines