Thread: I'm looking for a $200-$250 Mandolin.

Default I'm looking for a $200-$250 Mandolin.

Beginner here, I'm looking to spend $200-250 on a good playing and sounding mandolin. It can be used. I just want something with good action and a good sound.. Please send some links. I'll check them out.
    Just don't know what mando to buy.

Blog Entries

Default Re: I'm looking for a $200-$250 Mandolin.

<Removed by Moderator. Please limit Commerce to the Classifieds>
    Last edited by MikeEdgerton; Apr-21-2020 at 5:08am.
    '20 Ellis A5 Tradition, '09 Gilchrist Model 1, “July 9” Red Diamond F-5, '12 Duff F-5, '19 Collings MT2, ’24 A2-Z, ’24 F-2, '13 Collings mandola, '82 D-35, Gibson Keb Mo. http://www.bucktownrevue.com

3. The following members say thank you to Mike Romkey for this post:

RobP 

Welcome! You may get more bites on the “Looking for Information About Mandolins” thread. For sound, look for something with all solid woods. Regarding playability, mandolins in that price range are all over the map. Maybe try to grab a used Kentucky or Eastman for $200 then budget $50 to have a repair person do a very basic setup. Even new stuff in the price range can need a proper setup to get the action right.

Default Mandolin

<Removed by Moderator. Please limit commerce to the Classifieds>
    Last edited by MikeEdgerton; Apr-21-2020 at 5:09am.

Just a note. There's a reason there is a PM function and the Classifieds. Carry on.
    "It's comparable to playing a cheese slicer."
    --M. Stillion

"Bargain instruments are no bargains if you can't play them"
    --J. Garber

I don't believe you're going to find a used Eastman at that price. A used older entry-level Kentucky is possible, such as (just for example purposes) this one I found just now on ebay:

https://www.ebay.ca/itm/Saga-Musical...MAAOSwaXNennLi