Thread: Grandpa's S.S. Stewart - Help request

Default Grandpa's S.S. Stewart - Help request

I am hoping you can help me. My Grandpa had the mandolin in the attached photos. It cannot be played as it has been determined to be beyond repair.
    However, the family has restrung it (not tensioned), cleaned it up, and it is now in a custom display case for generations to come. We understand it probably has no monetary value, but it does have sentimental value.

I am looking for information on this mandolin and to find one as close to it as possible to purchase.
    This is all I know: SS Stewart sticker, B&J sticker, 1920s (or so we think), A-Style? F-holes? Forgive me - I am just learning!

Perhaps you can help either locate one in good-excellent condition, or suggest a make/model that is close as possible to the style, and better quality is ok too.

We want to get it for our son who is much like my Grandpa in many ways, an avid musician, and turning 20 with a desire to begin playing mandolin. Thanks so much!
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	thumbnail_image2.jpg 
Views:	314 
Size:	413.1 KB 
ID:	185281   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	thumbnail_image3.jpg 
Views:	188 
Size:	331.5 KB 
ID:	185280   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	thumbnail_image0.jpg 
Views:	166 
Size:	287.4 KB 
ID:	185279  

Default Re: Grandpa's S.S. Stewart - Help request

I am not familiar with this particular mandolin, but anything can be repaired. It may be more expensive than the instrument is worth, but it can be repaired. If it is that sentimental it may be possible that the cost is more than the mandolin is worth, but not so high as your sentiment. Your son could actually play your grandfathers mandolin.
    THE WORLD IS A BETTER PLACE JUST FOR YOUR SMILE!

Blog Entries