Thread: Dye question HELP!

Default Dye question HELP!

Gentleman, I have about ended the dye process. My question is this. I started with yellow, then amber, medium brown and then dark. It looks pretty good. But I have been trying to copy the Loar look on this mandolin. From what I have seen in pictures there is a fair amount of red in those. I have more amber burst right now. Can I tone down some red and blend it right over what I have now? Or were some of the old Gibson’s kinda amber burst like what I have described? Seems like I have seen some with more yellow than red? Keep in mind this mandolin is a distressed copy. Oh one more thing.....no lacquer has been applied or any other top coat. Thanks Veterans, JR

Default Re: Dye question HELP!

I'm no Loar expert, to put it mildly. But based on a lot of finishing experience, I'd say go real easy on the red. It's easy to add. Almost impossible to take back.

Teacher, repair person

In my opinion, there is not any red in the true "Cremona Brown" finishes. They are composed of brown and yellow, and sometimes [but not always] a bit of amber. That is one of the things that sets them apart from many of the other Gibson sunburst schemes.

I am confident that they used aniline dyes in their old finishes. If you are using something else, a match will be very difficult.
    While Trans-tint and similar modern coloring products may have some of the same components as the old dyes, they are far from being a close match.

I'll also mention that if you have been applying your dye directly to the wood, it will look very different after you have applied your varnish or lacquer. You can get a very rough idea of how it will look under varnish by wiping it with just a tiny bit of naphtha on a rag or paper towel [after it has had plenty of drying time].