Thread: Banjo Mandolin

Default Banjo Mandolin

Hello,

I recently started playing ukelele and mandolin and a lady friend gave me this beautiful instrument called a Lenora, it looks old maybe 20’s or 30’s, a friend of mine speculates. That is believable to me.
    I have to have a tuning peg repaired and because this seems to be kind of old, I would like to put age correct parts upon it. My problem is I can’t find the brand.. It says Lenora on the headstock and SOO Brand Roberts Tanneries, Columbus, Ohio on the sound head..
    I hope that you may able to guide me to a resource where I could discover where I may find a part.
    Perhaps I should just swap out all the tuners with some decent antique ones?
    I would like to keep it as close to the way I received it as possible, and I can’t wait to play it! I’ll post pictures of her soon as I learn how.
    I will thank you in advance for your reply.

Kindly,

Hank

Default Re: Banjo Mandolin

I assume it's this instrument, or one just like it, to which you're referring? The "Roberts Tanneries" label on the head refers to the company that manufactured just the head. Tanneries often were associated with production of calfskin banjo heads (one reason that banjo and drum manufacture often sprang up in cities that had livestock processing plants as well).

I also enjoyed this part of the Shop Goodwill description: This item was previously a floor demo gown so there may be slight use, missing beads, rhinestones, dirt residue on bottom, small stains ect. Is yours missing any beads or rhinestones? Afraid that the website used language intended for ladies' gowns rather than mandolin-banjos...!