Thread: Question for Experienced Players

Default Question for Experienced Players

I am still pretty much a beginner. In fact, many of the parts to the mandolin world are just now coming together. Like a lot of folks, I started playing bluegrass and had progressed to jamming with others regularly until this latest mess interrupted the jams.

Bluegrass seems to be mostly played at Mach 2. I am finding more and more bluegrass songs that lose their character at the speeds people play them. I heard Cherokee Shuffle played the other day at speeds that made it almost unrecognizable.

Two points: I can’t play that fast; and, I don’t want to play so fast that the tune just becomes melodic noise. I have had this same sense at festivals where top players go to jam.

Is this a common experience in the journey through the mandolin world?

Maybe bluegrass isn’t my genre?!?

Default Re: Question for Experienced Players

I agree with you about speed, and yes, bluegrass players who can show speed usually do. It is
    not limited to mandolin, banjo players are the worst (I am one of those too).

The good thing about music is that you can do what you want. Find players who play at your speed and have fun.

3. The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to BG_Dana For This Useful Post:

Ted Heinonen