Thread: Folkfriends OHG Irish Bouzouki

Default Folkfriends OHG Irish Bouzouki

Newby here with some decisions to make. I am considering purchasing either an octave mandolin or an Irish bouzouki. I've some experience with a tenor banjo so it should not be too difficult to transfer my limited skill set to an OM. However, I also like the sound of the zouk and besides it can also be tuned GDAE. With this and the traditional GDAD tuning I should be able to play melody or rhythm.

Currently looking for an instrument and finding the usual suspects: Gold Tone, TC, Ashbury and Carvalho. I've played both the Gold Tone and TC and they sounded good. Still keeping my options open but came a across the Folkfriends Irish Bouzouki from Germany. I believe it is made in China with a solid wood construction to their specs. Listening to the videos it sounds real nice, no worse than similar priced competitors and probably a bit stronger in voice. Again, I like the sound of a zouk. Even with shipping the price of the instrument with gig bag is about $525, which is a fairly good deal.

However, looking through this site and the Web I could find very little information on this zouk. So my question (finally!!) - does anyone have any experience with this instrument and/or with the firm?

Any and all comments welcome!

TOG

Default Re: Folkfriends OHG Irish Bouzouki