Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Ups insurance a ripoff

Default Ups insurance a ripoff

I recently shipped a Guild bass with UPS and it arrived with a cracked headstock/neck.
    I had the guitar in a very good fitted hard case and the headstock very well supported on the bottom and the top, strings loosened, in a good fitted box with padding inside around the case.
    It had to have been Stood on end and dropped.

I have been fighting with UPS for 7 months now. They continue to deny the claim
    I have reported them to the BBB with no avail.
    They continue to say it was not packed properly.
    I looked on line at their guitar packing requirements and they recommend putting bubble wrap around the headstock to protect the tuners from damage.
    If I had done that, the headstock would have broken clear off.

Any way, it appears that, unless you have “them” pack a guitar for you to ship, the extra value you place on your guitar for insurance is null and void.

I considered taking them to court, but don’t need more stress i my life right now.

I repaired the cracked neck, however the value of the guitar is now less than half of what it was and I am out the sale and the shipping $1,500.00.
    Not a happy camper!!!
    Just had to vent and warn all of you out there about increasing value on UPS shipments.
    It is a waste of money.
    Ken
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	CA62BE36-431F-4AED-9F12-FEBE7DC7A26C.jpeg 
Views:	189 
Size:	519.5 KB 
ID:	188951   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	E8EA1480-11C7-4C2B-92DA-D6A0845B48D8.jpeg 
Views:	184 
Size:	576.4 KB 
ID:	188952  

Default Re: Ups insurance a ripoff

Thanks for sharing.
    I recently shipped a Mandolin UPS, the insurance cost was as much as the cost to ship, thankfully all went well.
    2021 The Loar LM700 VS

Blog Entries