Thread: On Line Lessons

Default On Line Lessons

My wife gave me the go ahead to do on line lessons last night. I know absolutely nothing about them, so can you folks enlighten me about them? I think Mike Marshall would be a good one and have thought about Mike Hedding as well as Mandolin Academy. Do any of you have experience going this rout good or bad. In your opinion who should I really look at as far as beginner classes go? Thanks in advance

Default Re: On Line Lessons

Are there local teachers in your area offering private lessons over Zoom? For instance, I'm based in the Bay Area, and I'm taking online lessons through the San Francisco Community Music Center. I think you'd get more out of interacting with a teacher in real time than watching pre-recorded videos.
    Eastman MD504
    Curt Mangan Monel, Light
    Dunlop Ultex Sharp, 1.14 mm

IG: @standing.wav

3. The following members say thank you to standing.wav for this post:

Well, I have been a member of Artist Works with Mike for about 4 years. Can't recommend it enough.
    The pre-recorded curriculum is great but the real different of AW is that you can send a video of yourself to Mike and then he will respond back to you with feedback specific to you. It's not as instantaneous as in person of Skype/zoom lessons of course. The other super valuable thing is that you can see the lessons sent in and replied to for every other student. There are literally thousands of them to watch. Probably close to a thousand just on Old Joe Clark.
    Mike is also great about working with you on whatever you want to send in no matter the genre. Bluegrass, choro, Irish. classical, jazz, etc.

I've also been a member of Peghead Nation for a while and those lessons are great as well, but it is all just pre-recorded so there is no feedback or any kind of interaction among the students.
    Drew
    2020 Northfield 4th Gen F5
    2022 Northfield NFS-F5E
    2019 Northfield Flat Top Octave
    2021 Gold Tone Mando Cello