Thread: Should a Beginner use a Marco Rebora Mandolin?

Default Should a Beginner use a Marco Rebora Mandolin?

Greetings members of Mandolin Cafe,

I am a new member to this forum. I used to visit this forum a few years ago, when I was interested in mandolins. Presently I have become interested in mandolins. I have made this post in the hopes of asking a question about a mandolin.

I am a beginner to playing the mandolin and I would like to ask whether the Marco Rebora mandolin is a good mandolin to use as a beginner.

The Marco Rebora mandolin in this question is the same one as this one in this video:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k5khbk_eA7E

The description in that YouTube video provides further information on the Marco Rebora in the video: "This is an old Neapolitan mandolin, in the de Meglio style, built by Marco Rebora in Naples, in the very early 1900s."

In summary, I would like to ask whether a beginner should use a restored Marco Rebora mandolin, a bowl-back mandolin, supposedly from around the early 1900s.

I would be grateful for anyone providing their feedback.

Sincerely,

FinisVitae

2. The following members say thank you to FinisVitae for this post:

Default Re: Should a Beginner use a Marco Rebora Mandolin?

Oh, wow, I get to go first...

Well, I am in the minority of folks on this forum that love bowlback mandolins. I tend to play more Italian and other music rather than the style on the video, but the instrument sounds nice, although it might sound a bit different with a different player and holding position as many players sit the mandolin on the upper leg rather than in between.

Now - the 2 big questions.

Do you want to play a music genre that typically does NOT use bowlbacks, such as Bluegrass? If so this may not be your best choice for a first mandolin. If you want to play Classical, Italian, and other styles, it could be ideal. I've played jazz (but many players want an archtop mandolin) and Klezmer and choro on bowlbacks, too.