Thread: Semi-beginner here... trade-up or keep what I have?

Default Semi-beginner here... trade-up or keep what I have?

I’m just enough of a mando player to play it on about 8 songs in my band’s tune list — virtually all chords only so far, mostly just to diversity our sound and not have three guitars competing with each other on many tunes. Classic-rock and modern country stuff. I have been playing my sunburst Godin A8 and really have no complaints about it at all — other than I like the look of a more traditional A or F style. As you might know, the A8 is apparently widely acclaimed for its plugged-in sound. I guess my dilemma is moving to a different mando that suits this style of playing and has a quality plugged-in sound. I have to think that’s quite possible and heck, my ear might not hear the difference between a good Fishman or K&K pickup and this Godin.
    I also have a real preference for North American-made instruments, so I’ve been on the lookout for A or F styles with pickups already in them that aren’t made overseas (and yes, I know there are some real quality instruments being made over there, but I’m not interested).
    So if any of you more experienced players have any recommendations for me as a good step up, probably maxing-out around the $2,200 range, or other advice on what to look for for my style of playing, I’m all ears. Or maybe I should appreciate the mando I have and just go practice more!
    Thanks much, in advance.

Default Re: Semi-beginner here... trade-up or keep what I have?