Thread: Eastman 314

Default Eastman 314

This seems to be pretty rare in the US, but I am really interested in the Eastman 314 F-style oval hole mandolin. Hard to find much on it. This morning I saw that “Chompa” plays one, noticed that on the Tone Guard thread. Hoping he sees this.... (I don’t know how to pm anybody here)

Just want to know peoples thoughts on it. I am a beginner stretching to the intermediate mark. Currently just play a Donner, played a Morgan Monroe in the past. I feel the Eastman will be my first step into a quality mandolin. I really like examples that I have heard of oval hole mandolins. I like the 304 as well.

I love bluegrass, but I don’t play it. I am more of a sit down and strum some hymns, folk song, Christmas songs, and play out a melody every now and then kinda guy. My daughter plays the uke, and I often accompany her much like a guitar typically would.

So I’d love to hear some thoughts. This is one that I won’t be able to “try before you buy”

Default Re: Eastman 314

At one time I owned a Eastman 315 and 314 at the same time. The 314 had a deeper sounding low end that I enjoyed. I would think it would fit your music style very well.

A quick search turned up this...

https://reverb.com/item/5864054-east...-hole-mandolin

Pretty good price, most stores list them for $745.oo

NFI
    Charley

A bunch of stuff with four strings

Pittsburgh Bill
    Blog Entries

I have owned a 304, two 305s, and bought a 305 for my granddaughter. I have anticipation of buying another 304 or 305 for my grandson upon him progressing a little more.
    I thought all were of excellent value and played above their paygrade. I would not expect anything less of a 314. Personally I would not buy a 314, not because I would think it not to be up for the job, but I have a personal preference thinking F styles look funny. Besides they cost more than an equal mandolin in the A style. We all have our own quirks.