Thread: Going backwards

Default Going backwards

Beginner question. I've been learning to play mandolin for about 2 years. No prior musical background. So, very much just a beginner. Still, I was starting to think I was getting the hang of it, getting better at scales, arpeggios, fiddle tunes, and chord shapes. Lately though, I seem to be getting worse -- not able to to do smoothly what I could do a few weeks ago. I practice pretty regularly though not always systematically.

Just wondering if anyone else has experienced this "step back", if it "goes with the territory", am I doing something wrong, etc.? Suggestions?

Default Re: Going backwards

I’ve been playing about 15 years now and have never gotten beyond the point of mediocrity. But I have noticed that when my playing seems to get worse, I put it down for a while; when I go back later I’m usually playing up to my usual abilities again. I find that this approach works in many areas of life. YMMV.

3. The following members say thank you to Caleb for this post:

Many if not most players reach plateaus and dry spots in their development. Just keep working at your craft, and even if it seems like 2 steps forward, one step back, you will make progress. It's really about sticking to it long enough.

Quote Originally Posted by beginnerbill View Post
    I practice pretty regularly though not always systematically.
    Perhaps a more systematic approach to practice could help. One great jazz musician said that you can make more progress just practicing REGULARLY 5 minutes every day than if you practice for long periods some days and not at all on others.

Are you using any particular books or videos?

Best of luck!

it is a common experience. Rather than putting it down for a while I would suggest try practicing something different. Maybe try doing some sight reading or finger exercises, working on more complex rhythms, a different style of music, etc.