Thread: Beginner info

Default Beginner info

Hey guys, like the title says I’m a beginner. I bought a mandolin around tax time and have been on and off teaching myself how to play. I feel very stuck though, as there are no instructors in my neck of the woods ive had to settle for YouTube videos and books which I’ve lost already lol. I can play some simple scales, I’ve learned 3.5 songs but I’m not really “getting” it if that makes sense. I try to deconstruct scales to make some of my own tunes but nothing really seems to work well tonally or rhythmically. Any advice would be greatly appreciated

Default Re: Beginner info

What are trying to “get”?

Proper technique, exercises I guess. That was a pretty poor way to word it I’m sorry

Worlds ok-ist mando playr Zach Wilson's Avatar

Check out Mando Lessons. I think Baron does a great job explaining things!

https://www.mandolessons.com/

There is a Beginner Series which is very basic but well worth your time and a Techniques & Fundamentals Series. Both are listed under the lessons tab. I'd take some time to go through both of them before tackling more songs. Next I would listen to as many fiddle tunes (or whatever songs you want to play) as you can. I've found that when I can hum a tune by memory it's a lot easier to play it on my mandolin.

Happy picking!

Don't worry about feeling lost, it's completely natural.
    Do you have any previous music experience? What music are you interested in playing?