Thread: Non-mandolin question: Archtop, violin building references

Default Non-mandolin question: Archtop, violin building references

Hello, all.

I am in the middle of three different mandolin builds, all F5 models. One of these has been reserved by a friend of mine in New Orleans who mainly plays rockabilly/honkytonk music. He has never played a mandolin, but he's an excellent musician and is looking forward to learning. In our discussions, he asked if I would ever consider building him a custom archtop guitar.

Coincidentally, my eleven-year-old daughter has become very interested in learning violin, and she specifically has asked if I would build her one. How could I say no to my little girl?? So of course now I'm on the hook for that.

As a beginning mandolin builder I found the Siminoff book very enlightening (though I have since expanded my reference collection for mandolins considerably...).

I'm wondering, are there any single, "essential" guides like the Siminoff book for archtop guitar building and/or violin building? Thanks for your help.

-Mark

Default Re: Non-mandolin question: Archtop, violin building references

3. The following members say thank you to kjbllc for this post:

Adrian Minarovic

You can find lots of useful info on maestronet forum (the builders section is called pegbox). Very informative and some very top luthiers contributing but for new guy it may seem a bit uncivilised at times (the moderators are not as strict as here). Once you find out who is worth listening to you'll find it very useful.
    There are some other online sources like http://www.makingtheviolin.com/ which has very up to date information (that changes a lot in violin world) and virtually every step is covered. Good reliable drawings of typical Strad model are included.
    Very good source for beginners is notes from a violin school.. I don't remember who... ahhh found it...
    https://fixitwithshading.com/csvm-construction-log/