Thread: Looking for instruction

Default Looking for instruction

Hello mandolin Cafe! My name is Matt and I've been playing mandolin for about 6 years now, I'm looking for some lessons. I've taught myself thus far and am decent at the mandolin. I want to get a more structured experience though. The style of mandolin I play I would loosely call folk. I love to write my own songs and pretty much use the mandolin for that. Other than that I jam mostly rock. If I had to choose what I would like to learn, I would choose the Irish style of songwriting, be able to work with waltzes better, to understand rythym mandolin and have a better understanding of music theory and how songs come together. In the end I'd like to become a better songwriter.

Does anyone know a good instructor that may be able to teach online lessons and could help me with my broad desire to better my musicianship?

Sorry for the wall of text and thank you for taking the time to read it!

Default Re: Looking for instruction

Since no one has responded, a good source for private lessons is probably the MC lessons classifieds:
    https://www.mandolincafe.com/cgi-bin...rmat=headlines

Online there's a lot of options, range from free (MandoLessons.com, David Benedict, or MandoMike.com) to paid (ArtistWorks, Peghead Nation, BanjoBen, etc).

Peace. Love. Mandolin. Gelsenbury's Avatar
    Blog Entries

Sorry, I didn't see this when you first posted it. The combination of songwriting, rhythm, music theory, mandolin and Irish music in a teacher is probably not very common. You may have to separate these out.