Thread: Tips for bending/fitting the F5 bottom point rib piece?

Default Tips for bending/fitting the F5 bottom point rib piece?

I am still a novice working on tuning my build process for F5s, and I could use some tips or suggestions for fitting the smallest rib piece at the bottom point.

I am using a heat blanket combined with an inner mold for bending the long (scroll) rib and outer molds for bending the head block (S-curve) rib and long rib between the points. I fit them together with the block set inside an outer mold for glue up. But for the tiny piece of side on the underside of the bottom point, I taped a temporary "spacer" piece during glue up so I can then remove that spacer later and specifically fit that tiny piece so the joints match up just right... I understand some builders use this approach.

Whether you build your mandolins this way or some other way, I'm wondering how you bend and then fit that part. It has a gradual curve to it (to my eye maybe a 4" or 5" radius?). So I was considering just pipe bending a small piece to that radius, cut it slightly longer than necessary then use a small plane to dial in the joints.

Curious how everyone else does this. Thanks.

Default Re: Tips for bending/fitting the F5 bottom point rib piece?

I hot pipe everything. I'd have a block with the outer radius to clamp it to overnight before cutting it to fit.

Thank you, Rob. I have the clamping block all ready to go.
    I think my mistake thus far is that I first cut the piece then attempt to bend it. It's too small. I guess I need to bend a longer piece then cut a section off of that...

I bend the rim pieces a little long so I have bent cut-offs. I just make sure at least one of those is the correct radius for the bottom point. I fit the piece and glue the whole rim at once in an outside form after first making sure I have a good fit by doing a couple of dry runs.
    (BTW I bend on a hot pipe.)

5. The following members say thank you to sunburst for this post: