Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Pick Thickness

Default Pick Thickness

sorry for a dumb question but Im new to a mandolin. What thickness is proper for a pick? I have played a bit and played guitar for 20 years but want no stones unturned. Thanks!!

Default Re: Pick Thickness

Many people like 1-1.5mm. But some like real thin, and some 2 mm or thicker.

As you can see, mileage varies.
    Not all the clams are at the beach

Arrow Manouche
    Arrow Jazzbo
    Arrow G
    Clark 2 point
    Gibson F5L
    Gibson A-4
    Ratliff CountryBoy A

3. The following members say thank you to Bill McCall for this post:

My experience is that the particular instrument you are playing may impact your choice of pick thickness. For example, I prefer a thinner pick for my bowl back. I suspect that most people will prefer a thickness in the 1.0 to 1.5mm range. Bevel and point also have a significant impact on your choice of thickness. Balancing these variables to determine what you prefer will probably take time.

“There are two means of refuge from the miseries of life: music and cats.” ― Albert Schweitzer

1925 Lyon & Healy Model A, #1674
    2015 Collings A (MT2-V)

5. The following members say thank you to Tim Logan for this post:

Ya Bernie2, it’s really hard to say. I have been on a quest for a little bit now trying to discover what I like/don’t like in picks. I have tried from 0.73mm to 3.0mm

Instrument type, strings, playing style, desired tone, etc all factor in this, and it’s pretty amazing to me the difference you can get out of different picks.

Dunlop offers a wide variety of shapes and thicknesses. What I have been doing is trying to get about as many different combinations that I can as far as shape and thickness. Ex:

1mm pointy and 1mm round
    1.5mm pointy and 1.5mm round
    And so on and so on

I’m fairly new toadfish right now I am just figuring out what “specs” I like. When I feel comfortable with that, I’ll look into different and possibly better materials