Thread: New guy looking for advice on travel with mandolin

Default New guy looking for advice on travel with mandolin

Hello All,

First post here and I do really appreciate the resource this forum has offered me so far.

I recently purchased and Eastman MD315 for my second mandolin. First was a used Ibanez. It really didn't take long to realize the Ibanez was not the best mandolin for me. Anyway, I'm a pilot and I travel extensively around Arizona. I purchased a fiberglass hard case for the Eastman so it could go with me on my overnight trips. I am however really concerned about the temperature swings and extremes the mandolin might be exposed to. I won't put it in the baggage compartment however the cabin is not much better! I've froze my butt off on many occasion in the cabin. I do have Humidipacks and a bluetooth temp and humidity recorder in the case so at least I can monitor it.

Can anyone give me some guidance on traveling with the instrument? What temperatures or temperature swings should I be concerned with? High humidity is usually not an issue here however low humidity is a constant.

Thanks!
    Judd

2. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to PhoenixChop For This Useful Post:

Question Re: New guy looking for advice on travel with mandolin

In Its Original hard Case I packed my Mandolin in a duffle bag, thickly wrapped in my clothing ,

And that duffle bag was strapped to a back pack frame ..

as I had shuttle vans busses and such to take to and from the airport ..

I now own a Mix A5 carbon fiber mandolin & an Eastman fiberglass case ,,

On my bicycle tour of Ireland & Scotland I had a pocket mandolin , and a well padded gig bag

to have on hand for sitting in at Pubs.. and campgrounds along the way ..

I stuck to the north west , summer in northern California , Good luck with the Arizona desert..

writing about music
    is like dancing,
    about architecture

Default Re: New guy looking for advice on travel with mandolin