Thread: Identifying an old mandolin

Default Identifying an old mandolin

Hello -- I am new to mandolins. I bought an old mandolin at an estate sale and am trying to identify it. It has no serial numbers nor identifying information. The case it was in is in poor condition but has a logo on it, G&S Co., Challenge, Chicago. This company only made cases, not mandolins I believe. After research, a person said it is not Italian, but more likely American or maybe German. It has 49 spines and is quite beautifully made. Does anyone know how I would identify it since there is no number or mark? Does anyone know what it might be? I found a Vega that is very similar. Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_2152.jpeg 
Views:	129 
Size:	1.12 MB 
ID:	191816Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_2243.jpg 
Views:	108 
Size:	1.08 MB 
ID:	191817Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_2153.jpeg 
Views:	118 
Size:	1.39 MB 
ID:	191818

Default Re: Identifying an old mandolin

I am pretty sure this is either a Washburn or American Conservatory sold/made by Lyon & Healy of Chicago around the turn of the last century or so. Either the label fell out or it was sold to retail shops to put their own label in.
    Jim

My Stream on Soundcloud
    Facebook
    19th Century Tunes
    Playing lately:
    1924 Gibson A4 - 2018 Campanella A-5 - 2007 Brentrup A4C - 1915 Frank Merwin Ashley violin - Huss & Dalton DS - 1923 Gibson A2 black snakehead - '83 Flatiron A5-2 - 1939 Gibson L-00 - 1936 Epiphone Deluxe - 1928 Gibson L-5 - ca. 1890s Fairbanks Senator Banjo - ca. 1923 Vega Style M tenor banjo - ca. 1920 Weymann Style 25 Mandolin-Banjo - National RM-1

3. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Jim Garber For This Useful Post:

DavidKOSLake