Thread: Method book recommendations

Default Method book recommendations

Hi all,

I'm a long time guitarist just now picking up the mando.

I have decent dexterity on the fingerboard, but I really don't know what I'm doing. I've been working through a lot of youtube videos sorta willy-nilly, and think I'd benefit from a methodical approach.

Can anyone recommend a good method book series that will take me through the proper scales, exercises and staple mandolin tunes?

Thanks in advance!

Default Re: Method book recommendations

'Mandolin For Dummies' and especially the accompanying 'Mandolin Exercises For Dummies' by Don Julin

MandoLessons.com for staple fiddle tunes
    "Keep your hat on, we may end up miles from here..." - Kurt Vonnegut

Quote Originally Posted by Kevin Winn View Post
    'Mandolin For Dummies' and especially the accompanying 'Mandolin Exercises For Dummies' by Don Julin
    What sort of stuff is in the MFD Exercises book, guys? I have MFD, and it's excellent, but I'm looking for a book of exercises I can just open a play till my right hand works like it should. I've been recommended Mike Marshall's Fingerbusters and another mando excercise book on this forum, but neither appear to be available here in UK.

Mastering Mandolin: The Complete Method by Wayne Fugate is worth considering.
    Cohen A Oval Hole
    Breedlove Alpine
    Eastman MDO305

Quote Originally Posted by kt-va View Post
    Hi all,

I'm a long time guitarist just now picking up the mando.

I have decent dexterity on the fingerboard, but I really don't know what I'm doing. I've been working through a lot of youtube videos sorta willy-nilly, and think I'd benefit from a methodical approach.

Can anyone recommend a good method book series that will take me through the proper scales, exercises and staple mandolin tunes?

Thanks in advance!
    I think this is a great primer. https://www.amazon.com/Fretboard-Roa.../dp/0634001426